Getting the word out…

Daily Archives: February 2, 2011


Fidel Castro becomes the leader of Cuba as a r...

Image via Wikipedia

This was and still I believe is one of the greatest challenge I’m attempting in this Post a Day Challenge from WordPress. I say this because today’s challenge reminds me, and I’m sure those who are reading this, to pause and consider and above all be grateful.

As I sat and look at the challenge:

Who is your greatest hero of all time?

Bonuses: 1) Who is your greatest villain of all time? 2) Who could play your evil-twin in the made for TV version of your life?

I wondered to myself, who are my heroes and who is my greatest hero. Naturally, I had to figure out who my heroes were before I could distinguished which would be or was the greatest. It wasn’t something I had given any thought to and WordPress.com had gotten me thinking. But all I kept coming up with was, “I admire person who have been through trying times, but to be my hero…no” or “can’t I be my own hero”. So I decided that I would give it some time and perhaps it would come to me…hmmm

Topic #34 is however bring back some memories of an article I had written some years back, when I was at the Gleaner Company with specific assignment to the Outlook Magazine. I had written something on Jamaica National Heroes. I had asserted that there were no known means of judging ‘National Heroes’ by raising some questions, of course it got me a number of responses from my readers and verbal confrontation by a few I had known.

As I travelled to school and work, I found myself thinking about the topic again. While I sat in traffic I thought I could make some use of the time and blog from my mobile device. My first thought was a definition of hero might help, so I immediately went to my Dictionary.com BB App and typed .

“A man of distinguished courage or ability, admired for his brave deeds and noble qualities,” was the first definition and it sent thought to my head as fast as a bullet escaping a .38 Calibre Pistol just fired.

I still never came up with someone for my hero and as such I couldn’t give a ‘Greatest Hero’; just face it, I don’t have one. What I do have are persons I admire because of their strength of character and who they are or have become. My list of persons may not find favour with all of my readers and perhaps future persons who may come up on this post. But here goes:
Oprah Winfrey
Fidel Castro
Hugo Chavez
Saddam Hussein (or Saddam Hussein Abd al-Majid al-Tikrit as he is known to the Iraqis).

I think I might be told that I’m an extremist and I should be monitor or I won’t get a US Visa; but the idea that I like three ‘outcast’ or persons not of favourable terms with the United States is hideous and highlights a absurd reason. But you can’t fight people for their opinion.

TV Version of My Life
Who could play your evil-twin in the made for TV version of your life?

The good thing about this is that twins can be identical and non-identical, because if they weren’t I would have a difficulty choosing someone. I think I could work with a Jamie Foxx, or a Curtis James Jackson III otherwise known as 50 Cent; with his past I guess that would be a perfect evil-twin.



Magnum Kings & Queens NEW Host Yanique Barnett

On Saturday March 5th Jamaica’s number one dancehall talent show will return to TV. The 4th season of Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall will premier on TVJ fresh and clean on Saturday nights with a new host, new venue, new audition format and, as expected, a brand new set of princes and princesses all vying to take the Magnum crown with all the trimmings.

With the exit of Empress, the Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall producers did and open audition to find a new host for the hit show. They searched far and wide for a talent who could embody the essence of the show while at the same time bring their own flavour and style to the Magnum Stage. After auditioning numerous interested host hopefuls the producers decided on Yanique Barrett.

Magnum Kings & Queens LogoYanique Barrett embodies all of the swag and flavour that Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall has come to symbolise over the last three seasons and she is ready for the Magnum stage. She has pledged to fulfil the mantra of the show which is to usher in a fresh new crop of dancehall princes and princesses for the public’s viewing pleasure: “It’s a dream come true. I am so happy that I will be able to do what I love while at the same time helping the young and talented to buss.”

For the fourth season Judges Ms Kitty, Scatta Burrell and Professor Nuts return to bring added excitement and insightful comments to the Magnum stage. The Judges will select 5 princes and 5 princesses from each of the 5 audition location. After deliberations they will select the Top 20 Live Show finalists (10 Princes and 10 Princesses). The Magnum Top 20 will be announced to Jamaica on two live shows to be aired on TVJ starting on Saturday March 19. The 20 finalists will then compete for the Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall crown and $1 Million.

Auditions will take place in February 2011 at 5 locations across the island for one day only from 9AM – 3PM.

Ocho Rios
Saturday February 5
Amnesia Nite Club
Montego Bay
Sunday February 6
The Wexford Hotel
May Pen
Saturday February 12
Bargain Village Car Park
Portmore
Sunday February 13
Club Afrodiziac
Kingston
Saturday February 19
Ranny Williams Centre

Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall have returned for a fourth with all the swagger and flavour of past years but with some new changes that will definitely excite. The number one Dancehall talent show will continue to showcase the best and freshest Dancehall talent ever to premiere on Jamaican TV. The interactive talent competition filmed live in Kingston, has energized television viewers for the past 3 years and will continue to do so as the fashion, lyrical battles and intense competition will be stepped up a notch as the show continues to showcase authentic Jamaican talent in 2011.



Shuzzr Communications – Kym also know as Kim Hamilton would like to make it publicly known that she is now a member of the Alliance.

Kym who has been working extensively close with the Alliance Group in particular producer Austin “Payday” Green over the last couple of months will be releasing tracks in the weeks to come.

“It did a come man…dem respect me for me…and to have dem support is a blessing” she say as they have been providing support in all areas of her career whether directly or indirectly and showing her the professional courtesy that’s desired.

She is booked to perform in Guyana this month on the 29th and 30th and will heading straight to Suriname for another show on February 4th 2011.

In February Kym will be releasing her Mixtape titled “Rebirth of Kym” which is being produced be DJ Purfiya out of Miami Florida. These are just few of the upcoming projects that artist is working on.

Kym will like to express her appreciation to all especially members of the Alliance fraternity.