Jamaica and the British Empire today celebrates Emancipation Day, a day in which we individually recall the enslavement of our people. whether we be Jamaicans or Trinidadians, to free themselves of what we now have come to dubbed, ‘crimes against humanity’.

Many, the world around us, are quick to argue that we still remain ‘enslaved mentally’, citing claims of our dependency on foreign culture. Truth be told we’re who we are now because of where we’re coming from.

Our ancestral heritage have left was with numerous heroes and heroines, some of whom have been lauded for their efforts, in assisting us to achieve ‘freedom from Backra’. During this Emancipation and Independence week let us reflect on the strength, struggle/resistance, and above the reason these individuals along with the women, men, girls and boys who found for us to achieve what we now have.

At this time when all seem to be nothing but chaos, criminals are rampant, lawlessness seem to be the order of the day we MUST ensure that we don’t fall slaves to our fears of these elements that seem bend on crippling the society or fore-parents fought so hard to get, so we could live free of oppression and injustice.

If you ask me i will tell you, ‘yes, to move forward we need to renew ourselves in the conviction of our ancestors to combat the criminal elements that seem not to want the development of our economy and a just society.’

As i leave you in the strength of Nanny, Paul Bogle, Sam Sharpe, and our other National Heroes, i asked that you reflect our our National Anthem, Pledge and Song, for in them we’ll all find a conviction to make small and even large changes to our lives.

The National Anthem
Eternal Father bless our land
Guard us with Thy mighty hand.
Keep us free from evil powers
Be our light through countless hours
To our leaders, Great Defender,
Grant true wisdom from above
Justice, truth, be ours forever,
Jamaica Land we love.
Jamaica, Jamaica, Jamaica
Land we love.
      Teach us true respect for all
      Stir response to duty’s call.
      Strengthen us the weak to cherish
      Give us vision lest we perish
        Knowledge send us

Heavenly Father

      Grant true wisdom from above,
      Justice, truth, be ours forever
      Jamaica Land we love.
      Jamaica, Jamaica, Jamaica
    Land we love.
The National Pledge
– for use in schools at the beginning and end of term and on other special occasions.Before God and all mankind, I pledge the love and loyalty of my heart, the wisdom and courage of my mind, the strength and vigor of my body in the service of my fellow citizens.

I promise to stand up for Justice, Brotherhood and Peace, to work diligently and creatively, to think generously and honestly, so that Jamaica may, under God, increase in beauty, fellowship and prosperity, and play her part in advancing the welfare of the whole human race.

– for use in schoolsI PLEDGE MY HEART (to the tune of “I vow to thee, my country)

I pledge my heart forever
To serve with humbled pride
This shining homeland ever
So long as earth abide

I pledge my hear this island,
As God and faith shall live.
My work, my strength, my love and
My loyalty to give.
O green isle of the Indies,
Jamaica, strong and free,
Our vows and loyal promises,
O heartland,’tis to thee

