Is the Glass Half Full, Half Empty or did someone drink from it? Perhaps its waiting for a refill.

When the question “Are you an optimist, a pessimist, or something else?” hit my mailbox, I was still in bed and so I first accessed it from my Blackberry Wireless Device about 10:50am Monday Morning. Yes, I did say I was still in bed…what’s wrong with being in bed at 10:50am? Come one, I was resting my body. I’m digressing.

Seeing the question, it never took me longer than enough time to repeat the question out loud, become I had the answer, REALIST. My first question was, instead it a matter of attitude? Followed by, aren’t they both fulfilling though?

Through our experiences, whether educational or in that of social groups like clubs and societies, we’ve come to associate optimism and pessimist with that familiar analogy of looking at the glass as being either half-full or half-empty; chiefly depending on the telescope we used to view our lives. Optimist is associated with looking at the glass as half-full and pessimist as half-empty, in interpretative terms the former dwells on hopeful aspects of life and the latter everything that is wrong or associated with the well of despair.

For me being an optimist or a pessimist is ALL about an attitude. An attitude of what we allow, to let us interpret the past, and present so our futures are impacted. Hence it is not uncommon then to hear the thoughts or attitudes of the following being expressed:

1. Optimism breathes life into you each day WHILE Pessimism drains you

2. Optimism helps you to take needed risks WHILE Pessimism plays it safe and never accomplishes much

3. Optimism improves those around you WHILE Pessimism drags people down

4. Optimism inspires others to great heights WHILE Pessimism deflate people to new lows

Being a REALIST have however allowed me to look at situations for what they are at the moment without hoping it will go away, because most of the times they won’t. Hence there’s no point in grumbling about it (whatever ‘it’ is) being never ending, because it perhaps never does. Life’s the same. We all need to face it; both good and bad things are going to happening to us whether we like it or not whether we look at the glass as being half-full or half-empty. It’s a natural part of life.

I would be lying, if I were not to admit that being positive is a natural part of each of our personalities, since the human spirit expect the best from everything.  As such, we ought to keep a natural balance between being optimistic and pessimistic termed being realistic. In doing this, we look at thing as honestly as possible using our experience and take steps to remedy potential pitfalls. Accordingly, instead of ignoring challenges because you’re trying to “be optimistic” and disappointing yourself you could save yourself from eventually become pessimistic. I GURANTEE YOU!

 

[New post] Topic: Are you an optomist or a pessimist? 

Inbox
X
The Blog Enterprise
X

 

Reply
|
 

The Daily Post at WordPress.com

to me

show details 31 Jan (2 days ago)
English
>
French

Translate message

Turn off for: English

Topic: Are you an optomist or a pessimist?

Scott Berkun | January 31, 2011 at 7:50 am | Categories: Plinky, Topic Ideas | URL: http://wp.me/p23sd-77

Topic #32

Here’s today’s topic, brought to you by Plinky.com:

Are you an optimist, a pessimist, or something else?

Add a comment to this post

WordPress WordPress.com | Thanks for flying with WordPress!
Manage Subscriptions | Unsubscribe | Publish text, photos, music, and videos by email using our Post by Email feature.

Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser: http://subscribe.wordpress.com

Reply
Forward
