As a December baby and a Sagittarian, of which I’m both proud, I usually have it a bit difficult when it comes around to this part of that “giving” part of the season; perhaps because my birthday comes a mere 5 days before the 26th of December, hugely celebrated as Christmas Day.  I have been chastised as being highly unfair for demanding gifts for both days. But why should I be chastise, aren’t both days different; one the 19th and the other the 25th?

Sigh! For reason that I’m not usually the fuss one, or I will try to, I usually end up just giving up and letting the gift giver be free to do what they want.

Consistently, I’m mostly given gift on Christmas Day, and sometimes a day or two before to serve for both. Usually when I’m being given a gift I’m told, like most gift-givers do ‘I don’t know if it’s what you want’, and I guess I know the reasons why person would say this….I’m often accused of being more than the average dynamic personality and one with “different taste” ; I call it a “Uniqueness”.

Cut the chase, here is what I want for my Birthday and Christmas!

10. J. Crew Cashmere cardigan

I’m not high on fashion but any fashion dummy who needs 101 on fashion advice like myself can sure tell that a J. Crew Cashmere cardigan is an ideal key piece no matter what the season. Made from supersoft, luxurious Italian cashmere in a 12-gauge knit from a world-famous mill. Finished with genuine shell buttons. Welt pockets. This would be an excellent Birthday or Christmas gift.

9. Nice Specs

Every outfit ought to have a shades to go with it….damn i’m beginning to sound like some fashion person, which i’m not. For me once it matches my face I’m good, i kinda of miss these shades show that i once had. I once remember a friend early this year had promise to be me this cute pair of shades, but i guess i need to remind them.

8. A Laptop

I’m not the extravagant type, and I’m sure not a techie, so i need a laptop that does the average stuff update my blog and a little design here and there…you know were in this business for making money. I like a Dell Studio or XPS, but my mama did grow me up with ambitions and so I will never deny a MacBook Pro.

7. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens [Oprah’s 2010 LATEST Book Club Selection]

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair…”

Beginning and ending with some of English literature‘s most famous lines, Charles Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities thrives on tension and conflict, all set against a bloody backdrop of the French Revolution. The Dickens novel is said to be pack with a sense of urgency and intimacy that will draw you in and propel you through one of the most tumultuous times in history.

More Details at Oprah Book Club

6. Picnic basket

I would love to be surprised by some friends for an evening out picnicking with some delicious foods, drinks and desserts; I’ve always want to do this and have never gotten to. Please do not forget Oatmeal Raisins Cookies, they are my favourite, you could get them from Pastry Passions because they taste just like how my mom makes them.

5. iPod Touch

Divinity at your hands! Lol…okay just before you all start rebuking me, I have been saving for the longest while to myself one of these and keeps spending the money. I like the iPod Touch for a number of reasons beyond just storing music, its HD Video capability and gaming, yes people I did say game, I do play them too and i love ’em too!

4. Pretty Little Things

Jilliane Hoffman is by now one of my favourite author, not because i’ve had the chance to chat up with her via the internet, but since she has been tackling some of the most gruesome aspects of human behaviour and keeps me turning pages.

Pretty Little Things is her latest work and is a creepy psychological suspense thriller about an online predator who kidnaps underage girls, keeping them locked up for months before killing them.

Special Agent Bobby Dees has a very vested interest in this case because his own little 17-year-old has been missing for a year, so he understands the pain of losing a child and is willing to do whatever he can to prevent it from happening again. When the phone rings on a Sunday morning it will knock him from his insular world of grief and sleepless nights – and into a far darker place. A young girl, Elaine Emerson, has gone missing and only Dees have a chance of finding her. It seems that Elaine was last seen waiting to meet her boyfriend – a mysterious figure she met secretly on the internet, who goes by the name of “El Capitan”, and whose reality is as cruel and chilling as the worst thing Dees can imagine.

3. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dicken [Oprah’s 2010 LATEST Book Club Selection]


“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair…”

Beginning and ending with some of English literature’s most famous lines, Charles Dickens‘ A Tale of Two Cities thrives on tension and conflict, all set against a bloody backdrop of the French Revolution. The Dickens novel is said to be pack with a sense of urgency and intimacy that will draw you in and propel you through one of the most tumultuous times in history.

Read More About The Book at Oprah’s Book Club

2. Freedom by Jonathan Frazen

My third item from the 2010 Oprah Book Club List, Freedom is an epic family saga that has it all—sex, love…and even rock ‘n’ roll. Freedom captures the temptations and burdens of liberty: the thrills of teenage lust, the shaken compromises of middle age, the wages of suburban sprawl, the responsibility of privilege. Charting the characters’ mistakes and joys as they struggle to learn how to live in an ever-changing and confusing world, Freedom is an indelible and deeply moving portrait of our time.

See what Oprah Says About It

1. Cuba Trip

Everyone who reads my tweets or know me would have heard that I wanted to go Cuba for my Birthday since August! Without a doubt Cuba is the cultural capital of the Caribbean, with something absolutely for everyone; whether cultural or historical sites in the cities or nature and wildlife. With over 300 museums, with various specialization from art to science and technology, even anthropology, ethnography and history; I know I’ll be spellbound! Less I forget I’m a diving enthusiast and i’m told I’ll fall in love with Cuba.

