I think I’m most right when i say we all learn something each day, no matter how insignificant it may be. At first thought you may disagree, but stop…think…ask yourself what new thing did i learn yesterday? It i might be difficulty at first to recall if you suffer from short-term memory or perhaps super tired when you get home. I usually set aside time when i get home and lying down in bed to reflect on what happen in the day, what never when the way replay images in my head the way i wanted it to go. It’s a sort of reinforcement of a high-level of consciousness.

The WordPress Daily Challenge today ask:

Share one thing that you learned recently.

Bonus: Share one thing you wish you learned recently (Ninja skills, teleportation, etc.).

For today’s  blog entry i want to focus on FAILURE,  something that we all aren’t strangers to but yet fear. It’s the one simple word, next to someone breaking up with you (I’m told), that can incapacitate the most powerful among us. If you don’t believe me, listen Oprah or any successful person who’ve made it from crayons to perfume.

The lessons one can learn from failure are insurmountable, and of course depends on how you look at it. The movie In The Pursuit of  Happyness is perhaps the best known movie example I can think of at the moment that deals with this  issue of failure starring Will Smith, Thandie Newton and Jaden Smith. Will Smith plays the role of a struggling salesman whose world is crumbling before and around him. His wife leaves him, he loses his house, his bank account, and credit cards and is forced to live out in the streets with his son. The movies unfolds with Will Smith desperately seeking a steady job, which takes him along the  paths of a stockbroker, but before he can receive pay, he needs to go through 6 months of training….it’s a tough world.

None of us likes failing anything, whether its a  regular class, a final exam (good God,  I know this feeling) or a job interview; but really is failing all that bad? I’ve been through some rough patches, and I’m certain other persons ave gone through similar and even worse patches. However the attitude that one approaches failure is what determines if a lesson is learn or you will make the said mistake or worse again. I won’t tell you I don’t sulk, get upset, say “that’s it I’m giving up” and all sorts of madness when I fail. I think, like all humans my first reaction is to blame myself or find a reason to cast blame on; it just seem like it will make things better.  But then it does and in a flash I have to take responsibilities.

However, I’ve reach a point in life now (please remember I’m still a youth and under 30), where I step away or just seclude myself from persons who will blame me for what when wrong and dissect the situation for myself. Asking myself, “what could I have done better”, “why didn’t i see this option instead” and other questions. Some may say its self-torture, but its a process where see things for what they are and take the steps to remedy them and motivate oneself to succeed.

Before I going I want to leave you all with the quote: “Failure is an option in a controlled way”, so it really doesn’t matter how much time you fail, it could be 100 times the one time you success will feel great.

I’m going to leave you with one of my favourite Youtube video that looks at the mishaps of Honda racers, designers and engineers and how they have drawn from their  failure to motivate them to succeed. From poor color choices to blown race engines, these risk-taking individuals provide an honest look at what most people fear most. Watch the film and discover the upside of failure.

I however wish I had the skill of playing the violin, I find it very peaceful and believe it would fulfill me.

