I had made my mind up after blogging some leaked pictures of the movie in February of this year that I was going to watch The Tourist and I did! In the latter part of this week I went and watch the movie, even tweet on my twitter page. After doing such a couple friends have been asking me, “So what’s the real deal on The Tourist”?

Without a doubt The Tourist features two of the hottest people in Hollywood, Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp, and I must confess now that this made me wanting to watch the movie very much because I was curiosity to find out both heat up the screen or cancel each other out. Also Jolie’s recent Vogue interview admitting that she signed on to play the role of Elise Clifton-Ward because it was a quick shoot in Venice, Italy and fitted in perfectly with the Pitt-Jolie family schedule, also had me wanting to see the movie more. Here is what she said in the December interview of Vogue:

“I was looking for a very short thing to do before Brad started filming [Moneyball],” she says. “And I said I needed something that shoots not too long, in a nice location for my family. Somebody said there’s a script that’s been around, and it shoots in Venice and Paris. And I said, ‘Is it a character I haven’t played before?’ And they said, ‘Yes, it’s a lady.’ ”

Memo to Angelina: Timing and locations might be important factors for movie stars, but seriously it means nothing to me, either as a moviegoer or a fan, who has to sit through the resulting movie.

Foremost allow me to point out, as I told a friend, looking back watching the trailer hammers the impression that The Tourist supposable concept is about beautiful people running through beautiful streets, as little story set up is given. So what exactly is The Tourist? The gist of the movie is that Elise (Angelina Jolie) is this spy-type chick who is connected with an unseen master thief guy, who manages to embezzle over 2 billion dollars and is wanted by the mob and a number of persons spreading across 14 countries including Scotland Yard, England.

For two years the police have been following Elise with hope that her boyfriend would contact her, when he does she takes off to Venice via train. On the train she randomly sits beside an American tourist, Frank (Johnny Depp), who is off to Europe to mend a broken heart, and who finds himself in a dangle of flirtation with Elise. Things rapidly develop between both and soon police agents follow Elise believe Frank is her thief boyfriend.

Hold up I think I might be getting ahead of myself a bit here, because I’m forgetting to mention that The Tourist is in fact a remake of the 2005 French movie Anthony Zimmer starring Sophie Marceau. It’s the truth…and if you don’t believe check Wikipedia; it gives you every plot twist in the movie , including an interesting ending that sheds light as to why Jolie and Pitt would have wanted to make this movie in the first place. Learning this the big question is, will you go see this movie to see what the remake bring or will you just Wikipedia the original?

How I feel about the Movie?

I really wanted to like it but there is no chemistry between Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp, they’re nice to look at, and that’s just it! Apart from the plot becoming predictable after a while, I was expecting a little bit more action; perhaps because Angelina started shooting for The Tourist right after wrapping up Salt. Food for thought, I learnt after watching the movie that the scene on the train with Elise and Frank was the first time that both actors actually met, is that’s not horrible.

Nonetheless, the movie was good, perhaps a little better than mediocre.

In all The Tourist was kind of intriguing for the first half, but a serious bad to it was that it was extremely slow. Conversely, I know movies or stories have to do this for character development, but there were no character development whatsoever for this movie! Johnny Depp’s dialogue and Angelina Jolie’s ass shots basically carried the movie for the first half, and then the movie picks up speed and gets a little convoluted.

By and large Johnny Depp made this movie! He was remarkable average, and goes to show that in a world where he wasn’t Jack Sparrow, he can be an average guy. He stole the show, no wonder he landed himself one of the 3 Golden Globe Nominations for this movie for Best Actor. I can’t forget to say that Angelina Jolie ass shots were also great; I must confess that I equally love both for different reasons.

Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp are pretty good to watch so if you’re okay with that you can go watch the movie.

